Book Review: The Sweetest Spell

12988004

Author: Suzanne Selfors

Published: August 21st 2012 by Walkers Children

Blurb:

Emmeline Thistle, a dirt-scratcher’s daughter, has escaped death twice-first, on the night she was born, and second, on the day her entire village was swept away by flood. Left with nothing and no one, Emmeline discovers her rare and mysterious ability-she can churn milk into chocolate, a delicacy more precious than gold.

Suddenly, the most unwanted girl in Anglund finds herself desired by all. But Emmeline only wants one-Owen Oak, a dairyman’s son, whose slow smiles and lingering glances once tempted her to believe she might someday be loved for herself. But others will stop at nothing to use her gift for their own gains-no matter what the cost to Emmeline.

Magic and romance entwine in this fantastical world where true love and chocolate conquer all.

Review:

My overall impression of The Sweetest Spell was, “Well, that was certainly interesting.” This was my first time reading a story where the heroine has a bond with cows; that didn’t creep me out since I’m fond of animals and reading how cows are attracted to Emmeline everywhere she goes made me imagine about cows with dog-like personality. Not to mention having her life saved by cows instead of wolves made it sound pleasantly different from the usual stories.

To me, Emmeline was similar to the most outcast of all outcasts. Being a Flatlander, her kind are the outcasts of Augland and because she was born with a natural deformity, she was an outcast among the Flatlanders. Leading a pitiful and impoverished life, I’m surprised she managed to stay kindhearted. She did not even hate the other Flatlanders for making fun of her. She bore her burdens by herself and she loved her father unconditionally even though her father ignores her.

This story shows clearly that you don’t need to marry a prince to become happy and you certainly don’t need a hero to come save you. Although there were multiple heroes in the book, in the end, Emmeline found her own way to get out of the predicament she found herself in and she managed to save her people.

Emmeline’s power to churn cream into chocolate sounds original. I think if I could choose to have a super power, hers would work just fine for me. I wouldn’t have to buy a single bar of chocolate ever if I can churn my own.

Owen Oak is also another example that there are people in the world who are willing to help another person in need, even if that person was an outcast. By helping Emmeline, he put his family in possible danger. He even risked his life to save her; although that was mainly driven by his feelings for her. Watching both of them fall for each other was sweet and by the end of the story, each of them changed for the better.

I feel that The Sweetest Spell is more of a modern fairy tale with plot twists and many different characters which are found in both stories and reality. Like most fairy tales, this story tells of a poor girl who gained a magical power and found true love in the end. Although I found the book a little simple, it was enjoyable and a fun read.

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Book Review, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

