Book Review: The Case of the Restless Redhead

1097449

Author: Erle Stanley Gardner

Published: 1969 by Mayflower Books

What began as a friendly advice from Perry Mason to Frank Neely, a young lawyer, turned out to be a complex affair after Neely’s client, Evelyn Bagby, went to Mason to thank him for his help. Evelyn Bagby, was caught in a mess after she was caught by the authorities with a stolen diamond bracelet. With Mason’s help, Neely’s managed to get Evelyn acquitted. Much to her dismay, she soon finds herself tangled up in another messy affair in which she was the prime suspect to the murder of a man.

Perry Mason, with only his trust in Evelyn Bagby, must now obtain enough information and facts to free her from a crime which allegedly, she insists wasn’t of her doing.

This book was lent to me by a librarian friend of mine and I was interested to read about law and mystery rolled into one. To be honest, this is the first time I have ever heard of the fictional and exceptional lawyer, Perry Mason so I have no idea what to expect.

What I got, though, was how lawyers word their questions so precisely and so subtle that it can easily confuse the person at the witness stand. I wouldn’t know if lawyers in reality could fire off question after question successively in cross-examination but Perry Mason certainly can.

Speaking about Perry Mason, he is a very confident and self-assured lawyer, not to mention very calm too. Although his methods weren’t exactly orthodox, he is admirable. I feel that he worked not only with facts but he also went along with his gut feeling as well.

The one thing I enjoy reading in law novels is the way the characters, namely lawyers, manage to word their sentences in such a way that they could implicate a certain event or vital information instead of actually stating it. I could see a lot of such conversations in The Case of the Restless Redhead.

Looking at the book as a crime mystery novel, I daresay it was well executed. I don’t know much about the mystery genre but a mystery novel is well executed to me when I can’t who the criminal is and how the crime was carried out. This is seen in this book when I could only see to a certain extent how the crime was done and the outcome of the story was certainly unpredictable.

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Crime, Fiction, Mystery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

