Top Ten Favourite Authors

Hi everyone! I’m so honored to have a top ten list from Tara today! M. Tara Crowl is the author of Eden’s Wish and Eden’ts Escape, both published by Disney Hyperion.


My Top Ten Favorite Authors

M. Tara Crowl

Roald Dahl

Wholly original, endlessly playful, and dark around the edges. Like millions of others, I adore Roald Dahl’s writing. He has probably influenced me more than any other writer.

Patricia Highsmith

First, I read Strangers on a Train; then, The Talented Mr. Ripley and the rest of the Ripley series, then This Sweet Sickness, then The Cry of the Owl. The more Highsmith I read, the more I had to read. Her writing is crisp and spare; her characters are captivating; the way she builds tension is flawless.

Madeleine L’Engle

I read A Wrinkle in Time for the first time when I was in the first grade. My teacher saw that I loved to read, and she gave it to me as a challenge. It changed me forever. I love L’Engle’s other books too, but A Wrinkle in Time is pure magic; in my opinion, it’s just about perfect. I’ll be reading it again and again for my whole life.

J.K. Rowling

So much has been said about the Harry Potter books, and rightly so. I feel honored to have been a reader when they were written. I think, in a way, they changed the world. It astounds me that Quidditch, Hogwarts, and Muggles were all created in J.K. Rowling’s head, and now the whole world is familiar with them. 

Scott Fitzgerald 

He was such a talent. His books are effortlessly engaging. When I read them, I don’t know if I enjoy them or admire him more. The first to come to mind is The Great Gatsby, of course—but I particularly love Tender Is the Night.

Kate DiCamillo

Kate DiCamillo’s books throb with life and love. Her stories communicate the rawest, most precious truths. They make my heart buzz with feeling. My favorite is The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane.

Sylvia Waugh

Sylvia Waugh wrote a series of books called The Mennyms that enchanted me as a young reader. They’re about a family of rag dolls in London who come to life after their owner passes away. They spend their days enjoying elaborate “pretends” while hiding in their big house, evading the attention of people in the outside world who cannot know their secret. The Mennyms’ world absorbed me completely and impacted me profoundly.

Lewis Carroll

What an amazing imagination. His Wonderland, his crazy characters and brilliant wordplay, are so unique. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass have been remade and reimagined a thousand times through the years, but nothing compares to the original books.

Joyce Carol Oates

Her lyrical prose and the complexity of her characters are unbelievable. Her book Blonde, a fictional novelization of the life of Marilyn Monroe, is one of my favorites. It swallowed me whole – I could think of nothing else while I was reading it.

Robert Cormier

Robert Cormier’s novels are dark, engrossing, and thought-provoking. I Am the Cheese and The Chocolate War are my favorites of his. I’ve read both of them many times, from elementary school through adulthood, and they never fail to fascinate me.

About wynd2796

I'm fresh out of Form Six (Pre- university) and am waiting patiently to enter university. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Author Spotlight, Blog Tour and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

