Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Favourite Fantasy Books

toptentuesday

I love reading all types of books but of all the genres, I enjoy reading fantasy and historical fiction the most. However, since I’ve been reading fantasy books since I was young and I’m still relatively new to historical fiction, I’ll be concentrating on my all-time favourite fantasy books.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme originally started by the bloggers from The Broke and the Bookish.

1. Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling

The Harry Potter series is a must read for every child, young adult and adult. I find that it’s a suitable series for those who are interested in fantasy books especially since most would’ve watched the movies.

2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

One of the best standalone fantasy novel I’ve ever read. The plot of the book is original and the idea of dueling by using magic in circus is enchanting!

3. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

I’ve read and reread the entire Chronicles of Narnia thrice now and I don’t even own them. I simply borrow the whole series from my church’s library and return them two weeks later. The ending of the last book was spectacular.

4. Eragon by Christopher Paolini

The first book in the Inheritance Cycle, Eragon tells of a boy who came upon a dragon’s egg, becoming her rider once the dragon hatched. Eragon is filled with different languages that pulled me right into the heart of the story.

5. Dragon Slippers by Jessica Day George

Dragon Slippers has been one of my favourites when I was in secondary school. Whenever school work got too much for me or if I got too bored, I’d read this book. Dragon Slippers is about a girl who was given to dragon of her area as a sacrifice but it turns out that her particular dragon prefers stained glass to virgin girls.

6. Into the Land of the Unicorns by Bruce Coville

I believe that this book is the only book I have about unicorns but I enjoyed reading this book immensely.

7. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

I first got to know about this book after my Japanese teacher played this show during Japanese lessons. I got interested in Studio Ghibli’s movies after that and I did some searching around online before I found out that Howl’s Moving Castle was based on a book. After reading the book, I can conclude that both the book and the animation movie was very good.

8. Pendragon series by D. J. McHale

I spent a good many years collecting the entire Pendragon series which consists of 10 books. After reading the first book, The Merchant of Death, I became determined to get to the bottom of the whole story. Each book takes place in different worlds which is why reading each book gives off a new feeling to me.

9. Golden Fool by Robin Hobb

Golden Fool was the first book I’ve ever read by Robin Hobb. I’ve never regretted reading it and I am now hunting for other books by her. Unfortunately for me, Golden Fool was the second book of the Tawny Man Trilogy which makes certain part of the book vague to me but I loved the book nevertheless.

10. Inkworld Trilogy by Cornelia Funke

A trilogy which is about books and in the later part of the trilogy, takes part within a book. Meggie and her father Mo, both have the ability to read characters to life and after her father read a particular book aloud many years before, certain characters were dragged out the book and on that very night, Meggie’s mother disappeared too. A trilogy filled with wonders and adventure, this trilogy is bound to trigger any child’s imagination.

 

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Favourite Fantasy Books

  1. Jamie Wu says:

    Yay for Harry Potter and Narnia. I’ve actually never read all of the Narnia books. In fact I’m not sure which ones I’ve actually read. I might have to fix this in the immediate future. I’ve never actually read Pendragon, but a few of my friends really love it. I guess I should fix that too. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

