Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I Read in Secret during Lessons

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic from The Broke and the Bookish is a Back to School freebie!

Back to school already?? It’s just too soon! Although in Malaysia, school term starts in January, the university term starts in the beginning of September. So really is back to school (or a new life in university) for me. For the sake of reminiscing, I choose to make a list of the top 10 books I enjoyed reading in class while lessons were still going on. It’s not a good habit and I would be in big trouble if I was caught but sometimes, I just had to read because:

1. The story I was reading was too interesting and I just couldn’t wait to know what happens next, and

2. Lessons were just too boring. (To all young bookworms out there, don’t follow my example. I’m a bad example to others, haha)

Right-o, let’s start!

1. The Amaranth Enchantment by Julie Berry

I enjoyed this book immensely because of the fairy tale like atmosphere I get enveloped in when I read this book. The Amaranth Enchantment has certain aspects that are similar to Cinderella but the story as a whole is entirely original.

2. A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix

I first picked up this book because it was by Garth Nix and after reading the Abhorsen series, I was keen on reading more by this author. A Confusion of Princes was a beautiful mix of sci-fi and romance. Imagine just having all information fed to your brain as you sleep. It’s just what every student struggling with assignments and homework dream for.

3. One Hundred Names by Cecilia Ahern

In my secondary school years, I was (and still is) a big fan of Cecilia Ahern. Along with lovely cover arts and stories which tells of everyday life with a hint of magic in it, I try to collect her books and naturally, I sneak them under my desk to read in the classroom. One Hundred Names is about a journalist who receives a list of hundred names and as she journeys to piece her career together again, this might just be her biggest project yet.

4. Firehorse by Diane Lee Wilson

I remember talking about Firehorse for my English oral test. This book was what drawn my attention to horses. Reading about Rachel’s passion for horses touched me especially when she persevered to treat The Governor’s Girl even though that horse was badly burnt. It shows the strong bond that can be formed between girl and horse and it fueled my ambition as well.

5. The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder

The Day Before was the first book that I ever read that presented a story in the form of poetry. I was mesmerized as I read this book. In my excitement, I finished the whole book in a day while I was still in school.

6. A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

A Little Princess is a short and lovely classic that I loved reading. Sara Crewe, is not royalty but she is a little princess in every other aspect. When her father passes away, she is moved to the attic in the building which is Miss Minchin’s Select Seminary for Young Ladies. How she behaves when bullied and treated badly is something everyone should learn. A very suitable book for children and young adults alike.

7. Entwined by Heather Dixon

Entwined is a retelling of the fairy tale “The Twelve Dancing Princesses”. I am particularly fond of such books which are either based loosely on fairy tales or retelling the tales from another point of view. Entwined is a little of both but the story has more romance and drama compared to original fairy tale which makes it a separate tale in its own way.

8. Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes by Jonathan Auxier

A blind orphan who is skilled in thievery who manages to get his hands on a box containing three pairs of eyes? As bizarre as it sounds, that is what this book is about. The magical pairs of eyes assists Peter Nimble on the quest he finds himself on and as he gets to know more about the three pairs of eyes, he also unearth his past.

9. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Wicked Lovely is the first book in the Wicked Lovely series. In the first book, the story centers around Aislinn who has the ability to see faeries and in her effort to not let them know of her powers, she catches the attention of Keenan, the Summer King. With the clash between the Summer and Winter court, Aislinn has to make the choice to remain human or become the Summer Queen.

10. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Another book based loosely on Cinderella, Cinder is well-known among the bookworms who loves fantasy and sci-fi. I fell in love with the story line and the characters when I begin to read Cinder. Cinder, a cyborg with no knowledge of her past falls in love with Prince Kai but with the difference in status and the mystery around Cinder, they face obstacles with no certainty that they might be together.

 

 

About wynd2796

I'm fresh out of Form Six (Pre- university) and am waiting patiently to enter university. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I Read in Secret during Lessons

  1. Jamie Wu says:

    *grumpy old man voice* You should pay more attention to your teacher.
    I read in my classes too. The one I remember the most was reading Deathly Hallows. I borrowed it from a friend soon after the release date and couldn’t wait to get home to read it. The book was huge so I had to hide it in my desk. I took off the dust jacket so that I won’t accidentally fold it and then made a mess of the interior cover. Had to apologize profusely to my friend after that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

