Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books That Have Been on My TBR From Before I Started Blogging

toptentuesday

My TBR is literally a pile of books sitting in the last shelf of my bookcase waiting to be read and arranged into their respective shelves. I started blogging in December 2015 so I’ll have to choose from the books I’ve bought but are still in my TBR list till now.

This Top Ten Tuesday topic really is interesting. First off, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme originally started by the blogger over at The Broke and the Bookish.

In 2014 and 2015, I’ve went to a large book sale called the Big Bad Wolf where the books are so cheap I ended up buying loads of them. Naturally, a pile of books from those time remain unread and are still on my TBR.

Here’s my book haul in 2014:

10527780_944248878933919_4699735293140835307_n1150172_942439479114859_7427997076287717490_n

And in 2015:

11698743_1178232225535582_7007585447372902406_n11039094_1182170175141787_2630603837745649535_n

Now, it’s time to recall the books still on my TBR:

1. Hard Times by Charles Dickens

I enjoy reading Charles Dickens’ books but I just couldn’t find the time to really sit back and concentrate on Hard Times. 

2. The Time Machine and other stories by H. G. Wells

A book I bought after listening to my friend complimenting the author and his science fiction classics. Unfortunately, I haven’t got around to reading it yet.

3. 12 Years a Slave by Solomon Northup

I was so happy I found this book in the book sale. I had no idea that the movie was based on a book and a true story until I saw this book. I watched the movie before I bought the book. But 12 Years a Slave remains on my TBR.

4. Lady Friday and Superior Saturday by Garth Nix

Both of this books is on my TBR mainly because I was adamant that I would collect all seven book in the Keys to the Kingdom series by Garth Nix. So far, I’ve only got three of them including Mister Monday.

5. The Mammoth Book of Merlin edited by Mike Ashley

Being a fan of fantasy, of course I wouldn’t give up an opportunity to get a book with 24 tales related to the famous wizard Merlin and King Arthur’s Camelot. But I can’t say I was excited enough to devour the book the moment I got it.

6. Crown of Thistles by Linda Porter

Mainly about Mary Queen of Scots and the struggles of power in that time, Crown of Thistles is not another historical fiction. Instead, this book is a historical lesson on the age of the Tudors.

7. Naming Jack the Ripper by Russell Edwards

Jack the Ripper is an unknown serial killer who, till this day, remains a mystery. I have some interest in Jack the Ripper, but unfortunately, I was a little scared to read the book at night, or even if I’m alone. Perhaps I should bring this along with me to university.

8. Appetite by Philip Kazan

A book which I have been promising myself to read but is still on my TBR.

9. The Unconsoled by Kazuo Ishiguro

The cover of the book was what caught my attention and upon reading the synopsis, I was intrigued about the story. Another book which I think might be a good read but haven’t gotten to reading it.

10. Be Careful What You Wish For by Jeffrey Archer

Another book which is part of a series. In this case, Be Careful What You Wish For is the fourth book in the Clifton Chronicles and I would very much like to complete the series before reading it.

 

 

About wynd2796

I'm fresh out of Form Six (Pre- university) and am waiting patiently to enter university. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

