Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473

Authors: J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

Published: July 31st 2016 by Little Brown UK

Albus Severus Potter is struggling with being thought as the only Potter who is thought to be entirely different from his father, Harry Potter. As he continues with his struggle and the burden his name seems to put on his shoulder, the relationship between father and son begins to fray. Harry, on the other hand is having troubles with both fatherhood and his job in the Ministry. Upon hearing a conversation Harry had, Albus takes it on himself to try right the wrong his father made but his actions might lead to terrible consequences.

Written in the form of a play and not a novel, I had every intention of finishing it in one sitting but due to unforeseen consequences (I might have expected it, though), I was coerced  into putting down the very exciting book and go to bed. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child started at the exact place the previous book, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows ended. Curiously enough, it made me feel as if no time has passed at all and here I am, still a child curled up in a chair reading another Harry Potter book. The story of Harry Potter, nineteen years later spontaneously continued without a hitch for me. All the characters were still so fresh in my mind that I can’t believe that nine years have passed between the release of the seventh and the eight books of the Harry Potter series.

I was overjoyed when I could finally get my hands on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Truth to be told, the book was a little like a time capsule, going back and forth in time and re-introducing me to places told in the previous books but still revealing a little more details this time. Harry, Ron and Hermione are already middle aged wizards and witches in this book with their fair share of problems faced by most of the middle-aged. I was glad to see that Ron hasn’t changed – much, but I really couldn’t believe that Harry is working in the Ministry! And as for Hermione, I’ll leave her job a little secret; I don’t want to go and spoil the fun.

Albus has certainly changed since the last I’ve read of him. He’s older and definitely in the rebellious stage. Somehow, I find his behaviour very much similar to that of a normal teenager. The one similarity I could see between him and his father was that same reckless streak. I’m glad that he’s got a best friend, although I really didn’t expect him to be a Malfoy.

Interestingly enough, I loved Scorpius. He’s funny and cute and although a little awkward at times (especially when it involves a certain girl), he’s all right for a Malfoy. And he’s definitely the best friend for Albus. Scorpius is officially my favourite character in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. He never fails to make me laugh.

Along with the struggles and the multiple problems both Albus and Harry have to face, other possible outcomes of how the original story could have ended were explored as well. But one thing is sure, the ending reached by Harry Potter and the rest was probably the best that could be expected, even though many lives were lost. At least the Dark Lord was vanquished.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is filled with twists and turns and although the story is not written in prose, I could still feel the essence of the wizarding world. Although the climax was rather short and, in my opinion, has rather little action, I enjoyed myself immensely. It’s such a thrill to be able to see Severus Snape once more. And oh, how much I’ve missed the sorting ceremony and the Sorting Hat’s wacky rhymes! I’m a Hufflepuff, if anyone is wondering.

Filled with drama and humour and love, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is definitely a must-read for all Harry Potter fans out there, although I’m sure all of us have been awaiting the release of this book ever since it was revealed. Somehow, I’m hoping a little for a ninth book of the Harry Potter series, even though J. K. Rowling has already officially ended the series. Either way, reading the eight book has got me itching to re-read the entire Harry Potter series again. Harry Potter is and always will be a part of my childhood. That very series was probably what made my childhood so magical. Looking back, I daresay we’ve come a long way.

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Play, Young Adult and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. Can’t wait to read this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana says:

    I am glad to hear that you enjoyed this one. I have been seeing the book around and I know how much HP fans were waiting for it.All the excitement has gotten me interested in reading the series. I don’t read fantasy novels so I have never thought about it until now. Great post. Have a wonderful week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • wynd2796 says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by! Yeah, the Harry Potter series means very much to me. You should give it a try! You just might enjoy it. Have a great week!

      Like

  3. Pingback: August Wrap-up | Rainbow of Books

Leave a Reply

