Book Review: Me Before You

12649671

Author: Jojo Moyes

Published: January 5th 2012

Blurb:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Review:

Never have I ever read a book which made me wish for it not to come to an end. It’s not because it was just that good, it is, but there were other reasons. I knew the ending of the story not because I’ve watched the movie but because I talked my friend who has already watched it into giving me the vague outline of the plot of Me Before You. I have actually hoped for once that the book will completely different from the movie. But no, the ending of the book hit me like a brick wall and as I’m here writing the review, I’m feeling completely and utterly depressed and deflated.

Me Before You is not another romantic novel which will make you gush and blush and go all a-flutter. It is a solid story which addresses the plight of quadriplegics, diving deep into the mind of one rather pessimistic quad who goes by the name of Will Traynor. The pain that he goes through cannot be swept under the rug. It was vividly real that made my heart hurt to imagine what everyday must be like for him. Before, he was a person who enjoyed being active. Just losing that freedom is akin to just merely existing but not actually living.

Although I understand what it is he was battling in his head, it does not mean that I agree with the choice he made and stuck through to the end. I did not enjoy reading the ending one little bit at all. Truthfully, when Will said that it would be the first time he could choose, I can’t say I agree on that. Throughout the entire length of the novel, he has been making choices; going to the musical performance and getting a gift for Lou, all those amounted to the choices he has made. It was only after I finished the novel that I understood what my friend had meant when she said that the storyline caused a controversy.

There were parts where I did enjoy, though. I enjoyed seeing Louisa bickering with Will and watching him just bully her around. What I really did enjoy was when Will managed to get Lou to get out of her comfort zone and try new things. In the end, the both of them have got a long way together. Lou changed from being a person who thinks that everyone is better than her to a person who would really put in effort in doing something and in changing her life. I like to think that broadening her horizons was Will’s way of telling Louisa to live and in doing so, live for the both of them.

That said, although Me Before You broke me into pieces, I find myself looking forward to getting the sequel, After You. Perhaps there might be a better ending yet. Now I suppose I’ll go give that movie a try.

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Fiction, Romance, Slice-of-Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Book Review: Me Before You

  1. The reviews on this book make me want to pick it up, but reading a sad book can be very risky.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jamie Wu says:

    My friend recommended this book to me a long, long time ago. I still haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’m afraid of having my heart broken 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: July Wrap-up | Rainbow of Books

Leave a Reply

