Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Set Outside The US

Ten books set outside the US. Hmm. Now this I have to sit and think for awhile. First off, and introduction: Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme started by the bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish. Go ahead and click on the links to check out their blog and the future Top Ten Tuesday topics.

Now this is going to be fun.

1. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

This was the first book/series that came to my mind the moment I saw the topic. The Harry Potter series is set mainly in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. But Hogwarts is in UK which means that essentially, it is set outside of the US. Yay!

17899631

2. The Garden Of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng

I picked up this particular book after I read about it on newspaper. The Garden Of Evening Mists is probably the only book I have that’s set in Malaysia.

26068759

3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief is set in the town of Munich in Nazi Germany during the Second World war.

21440882

4. Secrets in the Shadow by Hannah Emery

Secrets in the Shadow is set in Blackpool, a town and a seaside resort on the Irish Sea coast of England.

17837719

5.  The White Princess by Philippa Gregory

The White Princess is set in Tudor England after Henry Tudor took the crown and the life of Richard III. The White Princess tells mainly of Elizabeth of York and Henry Tudor as he worries about a lost prince out there waiting to reclaim the throne that was rightfully his.

183065501

6. The Honey Queen by Cathy Kelly

Set in Ireland, Lillie returns to her homeland after living in Australia for most of her life. Still mourning the lost of her husband, she gets to know the residents of Redstone and tries to help two women who thinks that they are able to solve their problem on their own.

9663940

7.The Girl Who Leapt Through Time by Yasutaka Tsutsui

Set in Japan, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is a beautiful mix of science-fiction and teenage romance.

2544359

8. The Dragonfly Pool by Eva Ibbotson

The Dragonfly Pool is set in  Devon, a country in southwest England. Tally Hamilton is sent to a boarding school in the countryside of Devon due to the war. There, she meets eccentric and unusual pupils and teachers. Although furious in the beginning, she learns to fall in love with her new surroundings.

16691930

9. The Cleaner of Chartres by Salley Vickers

Set in Chartres, a city in north-central France, southwest of Paris. The story mainly centers around Agnes Morel, a cleaner of the cathedral in Chartres.

6764886

10. Enchanted Glass by Dianna Wynne Jones

Enchanted Glass is set in Melstone, UK. As with all of her books, this book is mixed between fantasy and reality centered around the enchanted glass.

 

 

 

 

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Set Outside The US

  1. Cool list of books! I haven’t read any of them… Although, I’ve heard of a few of the titles you’ve mentioned in your post this week.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2016/07/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-set-outside-us.html

    Like

  2. adventureswithabooknerd says:

    The only books that I have heard of are The Harry Potter series and The Book Theif. But the rest of the books on your list look good, and I’ll have to look them up. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. JAH says:

    Great list! I’ve got so many books to add to my TBR. Any recommendations for the first one to try?

    https://booksbeyondmeasure.wordpress.com/2016/07/19/top-ten-books-set-outside-the-us/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. barefootmegz says:

    I’m so excited to see Garden of Evening Mists on your list! I mentioned it in a previous post and I sometimes feel like it is sooooo underappreciated!

    Liked by 1 person

    • wynd2796 says:

      I feel the same way too! In my case, I feel that it’s underappreciated in my own country, Malaysia.

      Like

      • barefootmegz says:

        What a pity! I think it’s the only book I’ve ever read that’s set in Malaysia. Apart from Amitav Ghosh’s The Glass Palace which I think has a tiny bit in Malaysia.

        Have you ever made a list of Malaysian books? I’d love to look at it if you have!

        Liked by 1 person

      • wynd2796 says:

        Unfortunately, I don’t. The rate of publication of the works of Malaysian authors hasn’t been high until recently. I’m planning to get more Malaysian books though. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Harry Potter and The Book Thief were on my list this week too!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/19/top-ten-tuesday-66/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bftreviews says:

    Cool list! I’ve added quite a few to my TBR 🙂

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  7. For some reason, I didn’t even think to include HP… 😀

    Check out my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jamie Wu says:

    I need to read The Garden Of Evening Mists! I ashamed to say I’ve never heard of it before, even though I’m a Malaysian :O.

    Like

Leave a Reply

