Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favourite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish weekly meme first started by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic the top ten favourite 2016 releases so far this year. Do go to check out their website for the list of future Top Ten Tuesday topics.

Boy, do I enjoy this topic. This year is filled with book releases that I really want to get and are currently on my book wish-list. So here are my top ten favourite 2016 releases so far (mind you, I haven’t actually got around to actually owning them, let alone read them).

1. Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

Although I have not read this book yet, I have read Cinder and Scarlet and I must say, I definitely loved reading whose two books. Stars Above is a collection of short stories that take place in the world of the Lunar Chronicles, featuring the characters from Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Winter.

2. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This sounded like a good read set in the deserts that reminded me of the Arabian Nights. With Djinns and Sultans, Rebel of the Sands seems like a perfect fantasy romance book to while away time with.

3. The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

A retelling of the story of Aladdin, The Forbidden Wish is about Jinns too. This time, the genie of the lamp, Zahra is the one who falls in love with Aladdin (step aside, Princess Jasmine).

4. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

I’m a big fan of Sherlock Holmes, I’ve read all his stories by Sir Conan Arthur Doyle, watch the movies and I definitely loved watching the BBC series, Sherlock. So of course I would would choose “A Study in Charlotte” as one of my favourite releases so far this year. The cover looks gorgeous too!

5. The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Hellig

I chose this one because as I found the synopsis of the book unique and different. A ship that could travel anywhere as long as the captain has the map? I’d definitely jump onto that ship in no time at all!

6. The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows

Okay, I saw the first book, The Orphan Queen, last week when I went shopping in the bookstore and I must say, I regretted not getting it. Especially when both The Orphan Queen and The Mirror King was featured along with the author in last Sunday’s newspapers.

7. The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine

Well, well, well. Looks like this year has quite a number of retelling of classic fairy tales. The Shadow Queen seems to be based loosely on Snow White but that’s what I inferred from the synopsis that I read.

8. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

I’ve always loved reading books by Rick Riordan. They’re always filled with mythology and  magic. The Hidden Oracle is the first book in his new series, The Trials of Apollo.

9. The Crown by Kiera Cass

I’ve always loved the extremely beautiful covers of The Selection series. The cover of the fifth book of the series is no less stunning. The Crown is the last book in The Selection series.

10. The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Problem with Forever sounded like a book that is filled with emotions coupled with a painful past found in Mallory Dodge, the protagonist of the story. What caught my attention was the personality of Mallory, who is said to be a quiet person. As they say, quiet people have the loudest minds. I am thinking maybe it might apply to Mallory too.

After re-reading my top ten list, I just realized that nine out of ten of the books were fantasy. Looks like I’m interested in the fantasy genre this year, though last year, I mainly focused on historical fiction. Either way, I certainly love reading any book that seem unique and interesting. And the books I’ve just listed sounded pretty interesting to me.

 

 

About wynd2796

I'm fresh out of Form Six (Pre- university) and am waiting patiently to enter university. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favourite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

  1. Sadly I haven’t read any of these. Need to get more time somehow! My TTT

    Like

  2. Jamie Wu says:

    I haven’t read Stars Above too. I’ve read the rest of the series, minus Fairest, but I just keep putting off Stars Above. Kind of feels like I’m putting off saying goodbye. Haha. I’ll probably read it when I can no longer stand not knowing what happens after the end of the main series. I heard there’s a short story inside that’s set after the end of the main books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to see Rebel of the Sands on your list! I really enjoyed that one as well, though it didn’t make my TTT. I’ve also started The Forbidden Wish – hope I enjoy it as much as you seem to. 🙂

    Like

  4. I really want to read A STUDY IN CHARLOTTE – it does not sound like a book I normally pick up, but I saw the book trailer for it a while ago and it totally caught my interest.
    Thanks for sharing these and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Brandy says:

    I’ve heard such good things about A Study in Charlotte. I have it checked out from the library and am really looking forward to reading it.

    Like

  6. I need to read The Mirror King ASAP!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. foxyblogs1 says:

    The covers for The Selection series covers always catch my attention and make me think I should read them. They seem to be super popular. 🙂

    TTT: http://wp.me/p4uAPW-2FZ

    Like

  8. I like the sound of some of those plots, very intriguing. The ship that can go anywhere sounds great

    Like

  9. Rebels of the Sands and The Problem with Forever are two that I’m definitely looking forward to reading. Great list and happy reading 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

