Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love to Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and started by the wonderful bloggers at the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Reasons I Love Xcould be a certain book, character, author, your indie bookstore, a fandom, a tv show, reading, a hobby, a genre”. I chose to write about why I love to read. Can you blame me? This is one topic every bookworm must have gushed about at least once.

1. I get to travel to different worlds.

‘A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only once.” – George R. R. Martin

How true is that? Every time my mum complains that I’m reading too much, this quote replays itself in my head and sometimes, it becomes my answer to my mum. Reading is like an open door to different world and ages. It is my chance of living as a beggar, a rich man, a wizard, a dragon, a ghost,a vampire, a king, a princess, a madman, just name it, there’s bound to be a book with such a character somewhere.

2. I get to escape reality.

Reading books is my own personal Neverland. I get to enter and exit it at will. Most of the times, when the hustle and bustle of life overwhelms me, or when I just want some peace and quiet, I can be found with my nose buried in a book, reading myself out of reality and into wherever that story is based in. I live and breathe between the pages and the lines of words.

3. Beautiful covers.

Anyone who had stepped into the bookstore and get their attention captured by a book which has a cover that stands out from the rest and thought to themselves ” I MUST have this book!!” most probably where this is going. Yup, I’ll admit that most of the times, I’m a sucker for gorgeous and unique covers. I hardly ever choose my books based on the authors. Instead, it’s 50% cover art and 50% synopsis that helps me make my choices.

4. I get to learn about different cultures.

This is when I read about slice-of-live fictions or historical fictions about other countries. The Book Thief is one example. I get to know how was life in Nazi Germany during the war and what childhood was like in those days.

5. It is a productive hobby.

This is the reason I give other non-book lovers when I am asked why I love to read. It broadens my horizons and expands my vocabulary. At least I’m not spending my time outside hanging out with friends till the wee hours, right? Reading is a downright better hobby instead of shopping for clothes or just sitting around gossiping. I do shop, but only when I’m in the mood, which is to say, rarely. But invite me to shop for books and I instantly turn into a shopaholic.

6. There’s always a large variety of genres to choose from.

Historical fiction, horror, thriller, romance, young adult, fantasy, supernatural, psychological, mystery, humor, science fiction, poetry, non-fiction, action, adventure, chick lit, Christian romance, dystopian. Enough said.

7. I get to fall in love with fictional characters.

For the longest time ever, I have always been in love with Severus Snape from Harry Potter. Nevermind that he was a horrid professor from the beginning; that was what caught my attention in the first place. I cried when he cried and I laughed at the way he treated his students. I found him an immensely deep character who stayed loyal to his first love even though it killed him.

8. A good reason to stay indoors.

Sunny days, cloudy days and especially rainy days. I always envision myself curled up in one secluded corner at home with a book. I’m not really an active person so being indoors with a book is a pretty good activity for me.

9. A good way to while away time.

On holidays, when I just have nothing to do, I’d just laze around with a book and just lose myself in a good book. Then I’ll look up at the clock and think “It’s this late already?” and just go back to reading.

10. I just love to read books!

This is just the best reason why I love to read. As simple as that. But it’s also a rather complex feeling. I can’t exactly describe the feeling when I’m reading a good book. But it’s analogous to being a vampire. I just thirst for more stories and more experiences. I can’t get enough of reading and the excitement it brings each time I crack open a new book!

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love to Read

  1. Oh man. #3 gets me EVERY TIME, and speaking of covers, I feel like book designers have really picked up their game in the most recent decade and now all books look really pretty. Like a cover isn’t just so that the reader knows what book it is, but it’s also part of the ~magic~, you know? It’s amazing how books have kind of become an ‘object’ in itself. Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! I feel ya. Sun, Rain, Clouds, I don’t care, most comfy place for me is in the corner with a book! Why I Love to Read Sci-Fi and Horror.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think that’s the best part of reading: learning other cultures. Unless you are blessed to be incredibly well-traveled, it’s hard to soak up all the culture this world has to offer. Reading is the cheat sheet that allows you to encourage you to remain open-minded.
    http://decoratethesoul.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jamie Wu says:

    Great list! I definitely agree with number 1. There’s too many things in existence to be able to experience first hand, fiction provides a way for us to do it. Also 8. Indoors is always better. There’s shade everything. Don’t get what the fuss about outdoors is about. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very good list! 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Got My Book says:

    #4 is a good one. I love it when other cultures are rolled into scifi & fantasy

    My TTT list

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

