Book Review: Potpourri of Poetry

29437433

Author: Dorothy P. Lockyer

Published: March 31st 2016 by Austin Macauley Publishers Ltd.

Blurb:

There are secrets within this book,

I invite you to take a look!

Poems I hope will make you smile,

others to cause you to think a while.

Some written to provoke maybe

a long forgotten memory!

But most of all I hope you find

some words to cheer your heart and mind!

This amazing collection of poetry by Dorothy P. Lockyer certainly manages to make me laugh and cry and smile in amazement all at the same time. Simple and yet profound, the poems are an embodiment of what the poet thinks and feels and sees. I really loved her poems where she wrote about different food and several animals. She certainly envisioned herself in their shoes and some are humorous while others made me think.

There are many poems on Christmas sprinkled in the collection of poetry and I believe that reading them during the festive season will revive the true feeling of Christmas. Of all the poems in the book, my favourite one of all is “The Donkey”. The last stanza of the poem was so heartwarming and I could actually imagine myself being there.

“Now life for this donkey, grey with long ears                                                                                  Will ne’er be the same for his remaining years                                                                              A witness to those great events of old                                                                                                To the greatest story ever told.”

                                                                – The Donkey-

A few poems really got me thinking about the passing of time and how similar being young and old is. What differs is what is within. Reading the poem about mothers, I become more determined to treasure my mother more. Through one of her poem, I can feel how strong the poet is when battling cancer and I really respect her for her courage.

All in all, I really loved and enjoyed reading each and every poem in this book. The poems about her travels are breathtaking and I can feel through her poems that she was enjoying herself.

I recommend this collection to everyone who is searching for a book to remind them of home and the coziness and comfort it brings and to those who are in need of some cheering up when everything seems to be going wrong. Or perhaps to those who are struggling with their Christmas shopping?

A very big thank you to Ellie Johnson from Austin Macauley Publishers for a beautiful copy of Potpourri of Poetry.

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Non-fiction, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Potpourri of Poetry

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-up | Rainbow of Books

Leave a Reply

