Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookworm Delights

toptentuesday

Today, I will be making a top ten list of bookworm delights! This week’s TTT topic is really interesting and I can’t wait to get on with it. Before that, a short introduction about Top Ten Tuesday (TTT). Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by the amazing book bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish. Do go to their website to check out the list of future topics or just to browse through their bookish posts.

Now, moving on to my list…

131126190621-geroge-peabody-library-horizontal-large-gallery

The Peabody Library in Baltimore

1. Libraries

Don’t you just love libraries? And by libraries, I meant those libraries which have bookshelves stuffed full with books, books and more books. I personally love those centuries old libraries that overwhelms me but I’m fine with small, comfy libraries too. All I look for in a library is peace and quiet and new books to discover, which is pretty much every bookworm dream, I suppose.

twitter52. Bookstores

My second favourite thing to do after reading is going shopping for more books even though my TBR pile of books is waiting patiently for me at home. There’s nothing more exciting than ooh-ing and aah-ing at the beautiful covers of the latest releases (unless you actually own those books, that is). It’s a constant source of eye candy for me.

big-bad-wolf-books-malaysia3. Book Sales

Book sales are a great way for me to get and discover new books. And I don’t need to worry about burning a hole in my pockets. I get to haul books by the box. That’s what I do whenever the Big Bad Wolf Book Sale comes around. The Big Bad Wolf is actually the biggest book sale in Malaysia with most books ranging from RM8 to RM15. Now that’s a great buy! Although my TBR pile does increase by twofold, haha.

lilac_flower_bookmark_grande

This bookmark just looks magical!

4. Bookmarks

Collecting bookmarks is a mini hobby for me. It is really surprising what sort of unique bookmarks you can find when you go shopping. I prefer vintage styled bookmarks but to be honest, any bookmark that catches my eye works too. At the moment, I’m hunting around in the local stores for metal bookmarks. I’m planning to write a whole post dedicated just to bookmarks!

brjkogsciaaayup

The Peabody Library in Baltimore

5. Bookish accessories

Bookish accessories are definitely a delight for all bookworms! Button pins, bags and t-shirts with the quote of your favourite books really makes you giddy with excitement! How about owning a harry potter themed wand or that mockingjay pin? I’d gladly wear that pin everywhere, to be honest. I’d cry tears of joy to have that Gryffindor scarf. But since I can’t get my hands on those, I’ll just settle with other book-themed accessories.

136110526. Rambling on and on about a good book I’ve read

Ever got that feeling after reading and exceptionally good book where you just want to grab the first person you see and just pour out all your thoughts and feelings on that book to them? Oh, and let’s not forget the tears that accompany because the book was just that good. Yup, that’s exactly what I feel when I finish a reaaaally good book. If there aren’t anyone near me, I would just ramble to myself in my head.

d1fcb89991c829641ae244ff742ca5cb

7. The smell of books

If people stare at you in a weird way because you literally buried in a book, pay them no heed. They probably haven’t experience the wonderful aroma of books, especially old books. I used to read the “Peter and Jane” series when I was young, and surprisingly, the smell of that book stuck with me and I find myself sniffing any new books I get to compare the scents. I especially love the scent of my old copy of Anne of Green Gables. I wonder if I would actually go as far as to actually spray old book perfume on myself? But really, the scent of books put me at ease. Actually I’ve read an article a few months back on the scent of old books. It really explained a lot why I felt that.

8. Piles of Books

I am not by nature a perfectly neat person. I enjoy seeing my books in piles on the table or in chairs or simply on the floor. Somehow, looking at those pile of books, even for a while gives me a sense of happiness and I find the motivation to read more books.

9. Coming across someone who is reading a book I love

Whenever I see someone reading one of my many favourite books, the emotion that goes through me is not unlike finding a kindred spirit. For a second there, I would feel as if we would be great friends. Even though I’m not brave enough to go over and talk to that person, I still feel as if we are connected by that book. Cheesy, huh?

10. Quoting books

Quoting from books is something that can only be done when you really paid attention when reading and you allow the words to plant themselves in your head as you turn a quote over and over in your head. The ability to quote from books isn’t something that happens overnight. Heck, I can’t even perfectly quote from my favourite books. But there is one that remained in my head after all this years:

“Books have to be heavy because the whole world’s inside them.” -Inkheart

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookworm Delights

  1. Jamie Wu says:

    What?! A fellow Malaysian blogger? That’s like… That’s like finding a needle in a haystack!

    I’ve heard so much about the Big Bad Wolf sales, but I’ve never had a chance to go to them. I live across the sea. 😥 Well, we still have the BB1M vouchers, so that’s something.

    Liked by 1 person

    • wynd2796 says:

      Yeah! A pity I won’t be getting my BB1M vouchers this year but that’s not stopping me from buying books! Hopefully they’ll organize a Big Bad Wolf Book Sale in every state! Where in Malaysia are you from?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jamie Wu says:

        Oh, have you graduated? This is my last year getting BB1M, so next year there’s no more free books for me. I’m from Sarawak. Big Bad Wolf hasn’t come here yet. Hopefully, eventually. Which state are you from?

        Like

      • wynd2796 says:

        I’m waiting to enter university at the moment so probably no vouchers for me? I’m from Perak. Big Bad Wolf first came two years ago so it’s relatively new in Perak too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Jamie Wu says:

        I see. There’s always next year. And a few more after that, depending on your degree :-).

        Like

      • wynd2796 says:

        I’m certainly looking forward to it. 😃

        Like

  2. _giovannard says:

    Great Top Ten!
    Bookstores will probably be the death of me! I always find it hard to pass up on going in. Then when I’m there, always buy at least one book. I need help!! 😉
    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. @lynnsbooks says:

    I really do love libraries – and book stores, and thrift shops and markets and basically any place that I can stare longingly and lovingly at books!
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahh libraries and bookstores, some women love shoes I love books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

