Book Review: Ricochet: Riding a Wave of Hope with the Dog Who Inspires Millions

23217277

Author: Judy Fridono with Kay Pfaltz

Published: May 5th 2015 by Hci

Ricochet, a golden retriever was born on January 25, 2008, in a litter of ten. As a bright puppy who quickly learned to switch on lights and listen to various instructions, her future as a service dog seems already mapped out for her by her owner and trainer, Judy Fridono. Except that Ricochet has plans of her own, or more accurately, she knew from the beginning what her true purpose in life was. Much to the frustration of Judy, Ricochet suddenly lost all interest in her training, instead, she shut down and refused to cooperate.

Until Judy accepted an invitation for Ricochet to take part in the Purina Pro Plan Incredible Dog Challenge. That was what set off Ricochet on her true, predestined path. Judy finally realized what Ricochet was meant to do all this while and decided to just let her go on with it. Thus, Ricochet, the SURFice dog, came to  help people with disabilities and traumas by surfing and connecting with them.

This is what this book is all about: How Ricochet, a dog with the heart and mind of an angel, touched and changed the lives of many.

When I first got this book, the first thing I fell in love with was the picture of Ricochet. Without even knowing her or the stories she and Judy had to tell, I fell in love with her deep brown eyes, gentle and knowing all at once. She looked intense and focused, ready to help. I just felt like throwing my arms around her.

Then I got to learn about both Judy’s and Ricochet’s past. I truly believe that Rina and Ricochet found Judy because they knew that they were meant for her. Although Ricochet’s life’s work was to touch and heal the hearts of many, I have a feeling that he worked on her first, by letting her know that it’s alright to let go, to just go with the flow and see where it leads you. Actually, that’s what this book taught me: It’s alright to be different and just be who you really are.

“Ricochet showed me how to honour and celebrate individuality no matter what anyone’s expectations of you are or what obstacles they throw in front of you.”

Ricochet is a golden retriever, though she is more red than golden. But what truly is golden is her heart, full of love for anyone and eager to help those whom she knows truly need her. At the same time, what is truly red is her spirit, fiery and strong, knowing what she was put here on this Earth to do. She doesn’t let anything stop her and I admire that in her. As I read of how she helps various people, her intuition and her sense of just simply knowing and accepting never ceases to amaze me. It is said that dogs are intuitive but when I see Ricochet, I find myself that she is ten-fold more intuitive. She is able to simply look straight into a person’s heart, and gains access to their weaknesses, their insecurities, their pain and their fears. She connects with them and I can’t help but wonder how she does it, but then again, dogs are gifted and mysterious animals.

As I read about the lives of Patrick, Ian, West, Randy, Caleb and a few others, my eyes and heart were opened to their experience and their pain. I cry every time I read and think about the agony they must have went through. The stories of their lives made me truly see clearly that there are many people in the world who really needs help, not only financially, but emotionally. I commend all of what Ricochet has done, is doing and what she will do. She is probably the best remedy for everything that is negative in the world. She heals from the inside out and brightens everyone’s life.

The book is written in such a way that it is lyrical and engaging as well as thought-provoking, encouraging the readers to experience the story and to go through the roller-coaster of the lives of those Ricochet has touched. It also allows the readers to enjoy the waves of words that wash over them as they read about the joy that everyone felt when surfing or watching Ricochet surf.

I am very grateful to be given a chance to learn about Judy and her wonderfully gifted dog, Ricochet. A big heartfelt “Thank You” to Judy for sending me a beautifully pawtographed copy of Ricochet: Riding the Waves of Hope with the Dog Who Inspires Millions. In a way, Ricochet has touched my heart just as she has with millions of people worldwide.

20160412_213311

What an adorable pawtograph!

I would also like to add a few links for those who, like me, are interested to learn more about Ricochet and her amazing work as a SURFice dog!

About wynd2796

I'm fresh out of Form Six (Pre- university) and am waiting patiently to enter university. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Animals, Inspirational, Non-fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Ricochet: Riding a Wave of Hope with the Dog Who Inspires Millions

  1. Pingback: April Book Haul + Wrap-up | Rainbow of Books

Leave a Reply

