Top Ten Tuesday: Three Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough

toptentuesdayToday on Top Ten Tuesday, the topic given is: Ten books I really love but feel like I haven’t talked about enough. I have so many choices but which to choose and where to start? I’ve always loved to talked about the books I loved and trust me, not many listen to my rambles, I can go on for hours, even suddenly squealing by myself when I’m alone or if there’s some unfortunate ones around me. Instead of making a list of ten books, I’ve decided to concentrate on only three books which I am overly fond of. Before I start, I would just like to explain that the Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme made by the awesome book bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish.

763588

1. Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery

This volume is the first classic I’ve ever read 13 years ago and since then, I’ve reread it countless time and each time is just as good as the first time I’ve read it. Anne, being an orphan, was wrongly sent to couple Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert, who wanted a boy who can help with the farm. Nevertheless, they adopted her and their choice changed both their and Anne’s lives. The book tells of Anne’s everyday life, her school life, her best friend Dianna and the boy who teased her, calling her hair “carrots”, Gilbert. It also tells of her coming of age years, going on to study to be a teacher and the various problems she faced as she continue to grow year after year. Ever since reading Anne of Green Gables, I’ve always been on the lookout for my own Dianna, and suffice to say, I’ve already found one and I’m truly grateful. I love Anne’s personality, always upbeat and energetic, she remains strong by Marilla’s side after Matthew’s death. Her only peeve is her red hair, which I imagine must look really pretty. I haven’t read this book in a while now and I’m planning to do so soon. I look forward to relive the wonderful story that is Anne of Green Gables.

26068759

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I’ve read The Book Thief way before the movie was released and I’m contended with just the book alone without ever watching the movie. But just out of curiosity, I guess I will watch the movie when the chance arises. Set during Hitler’s time, the Jews in Germany were being rooted out and sent to concentration camps. It was during such times that Liesel finds herself in the Hubermanns’ house. It was also during those time the Hubermanns found Max, a Jew, at their doorsteps. But in the book, the war wasn’t always the centre of attention. There were also cheerful times, times when Liesel had fun playing with Rudy, her neighbour. They’d go running around, playing football or even stealing apples.

Due to the kindness of Hans Huberman and his willingness to risk his own neck and his family to repay his debt, Max was given shelter in their basement. Even with Max, Liesel was able to create happy memories. SImple things such as bringing Max a copy of the newspaper and talking to him brings happiness. Liesel’s greatest happiness was when she learnt to read and write, even stealing the banned books from the Nazis. I love the interludes where Death speaks his thoughts and talks about what he does and how he found the book Liesel wrote about her life. This book made me laugh and cry and wonder at every page. I cried like a baby after the Liesel’s neighborhood had bombs dropped on it and Rudy was on of the many people that died. The scene where Liesel kisses his lips was heartbreaking and that made me cried even harder.  The one sentence that remains stuck in my mind is when Liesel likens Max’s hair to that of bird’s feathers. The Book Thief is officially one of my most favourite books of all times.

13611052

3. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus is one of the most original books I’ve had the honour of reading. It was originally written for the infamous annual writing competition NaNoWriMo. The Night Circus is truly different from any other books and deserve to be a genre of its very own. It pulls and pushes the readers to join in with the story, encouraging them to imagine the circus, to take part in the parade as the story weaves itself around them. I simply fell in love with the book the moment I saw the book. Set in the Victorian era, Le Cirque des Reves, shows up unexpectedly, and is open only at night and in the morning, is as quiet as a mouse. Every time I try to envisage the Circus of Dreams, I see gothic-styled tents, erected elegantly and holding a mysterious air around them, made ever more dreamy by the presence of the bonfire lit in the center of the circus. The entrances of the circus would be enticing and both threatening, drawing the visitors to enter and explore the wonders hidden within.

This book allows me to imagine and to dream. It draws a very fine line between reality and fantasy. But where does one end before the other begin? That’s what make this book so captivating and beautiful. Caught in the middle of the shows of the circus and all the entertainment, are two young people, Celia and Marco, two powerful magicians not unlike illusionists who are caught in a competition between themselves. One that will end only when one of the competitor is dead. The fact that they fall in love and the unexpected ending of a stalemate makes the story even more mysterious and makes me wonder just how the minds of magicians work. The competition is something even like a game of chess and even if I read it again, I’m sure I will discover new aspects of the story that I have failed to realise before. The Night Circus is truly an art.

 

About wynd2796

I'm fresh out of Form Six (Pre- university) and am waiting patiently to enter university. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Three Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough

  1. Love, love, LOVE The Night Circus!! I have yet to read The Book Thief even though I’ve had it fro quite some time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marie says:

    The Night Circus was a very interesting book. The writing was beautiful, and I’d love to re-read it sometime soon.

    My TTT:Marie @ Pages to Explore

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

