Book Review: The Vigilante’s Bride

Author: Yvonne Harris

Published: August 1st 2010 by Bethany House Publishers

First things first, I’ve checked the meaning of a vigilante. From what I’ve found on Google, a vigilante is a member of a self-appointed group of citizens who undertake law enforcement in their community without legal authority, typically because the legal agencies are thought to be inadequate. That made me think of a hero disguised as a villain.

The Vigilante’s Bride is about eighteen-year-old Emily McCarthy who is chosen by Aldersgate Orphanage in answer to a bride advertisement from Bart Axel. Luckily enough (or unluckily), she was rescued (or kidnapped) by Luke Sullivan, an ex-vigilante who planned on robbing the stagecoach Emily was on. From there on, their relationship started out as a cat-and-dog relationship, always snapping and arguing with each other. Eventually, Emily began to soften towards Luke and Luke, in turn, found himself falling deeper in love with her. The only problem is: Bart Axel does not take lightly Luke snatching away his bride.

This book was an easy going and lovely book. It is a good book that helped me relax and settle down into the world of the Wild West. The Vigilante’s Bride is a little cowboy themed but not every page of the book is filled with cows and horses. Which is good, in my opinion. I wanted it to be a romance story and that was what I got. The love between Emily and Luke was sweet and adorable, though awkward at times, with a fair amount of humour which gets me laughing.

This book is another Christian romance book I’ve borrowed from my church’s library and I must say that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it. Even so, I’ve realized that although it is a Christian romance, God is rarely mentioned except during those times when Luke is in trouble and he has no way out. But then again, that’s one of the ways for one to slowly get back the faith they lost in God. Perhaps putting Luke in life-threatening situation was God’s way to make Luke acknowledge Him.

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

