The House of Rumour

13608990

Author: Jake Arnott

Published: July 5th 2012 by Sceptre ( First published January 1st 2012)

 

This book is a mixture of fiction and truth and that mixture is found in most of the characters there. All of them are at least searching for a meaning of something, wondering what is the world about. Each chapter in The House of Rumour is named after a tarot card from the Major Arcana or has some kind of relation to them. I didn’t realise that at first until I got to chapter 5: the Hierophant. I knew I had heard it from somewhere (turns out it was from an Android card game developed from Zynga but they shut it down a while ago). The story happened mostly during the early and mid 20th century when the Second World War started and science fiction became famous.

At first I thought that what I was reading was just another science fiction book which probably features a science fiction author abducted by aliens or the supernatural and was locked into a house ( hence the title). But no, this book was more than that. It was more complicated than just a main characters. In fact, each chapter has a main character of its own which, as I continued to read, are connected to one another although they might not know it. Everything becomes clear at the end of the story. Each chapter seemed like a short story which can be read by itself which can be confusing at the beginning because it all features a different character but as I read on, thing started to work out.

What I liked about this book was the fact that fiction and truth are mixed into it. To be honest, I couldn’t really make out which parts of the story were fiction and which parts were truth. But I do know about the Jonestown Massacre. It was really a stroke of genius that the author could put two characters into the heart of the Massacre and made everything seemed so real. I certainly learned new things from this story, about disinformation, black propaganda, etc. that were used by governments and how they managed to weave the occult and politics together. It was shocking to read that the generals from Germany were so superstitious, but then I wouldn’t really know if that was true unless I get more reading materials on it.

The House of Rumour is really something different that really made me think.One question sticks in my mind though: Are excellent and best-selling stories in the science fiction genre written by authors when they are drunk or high on drugs? I certainly hope not, haha.

About wynd2796

I'm fresh out of Form Six (Pre- university) and am waiting patiently to enter university. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

