Cocktails For Three

129645

Author: Madeleine Wickham

Published: March 7th 2006 by St. Martin’s Griffin (First published 2000)

Okay, first off, I seldom read chick lit so I’m not sure what are the norms for this genre. It’s not as if I dislike such books, on the contrary, I find them fun and easy to read; I can allow my mind to wander to posh places and imagine myself in mansions, fall in love with an absolutely perfect guy, etc…

The reason for this is because if I buy one of them, I’ll want to get all of them, those bright cheerful covers which never fails to grab my attention. So I limit myself to obtaining chick lit books occasionally or else my purse would be the one to suffer.

Cocktail for Three was given to me by my dear friend as a birthday gift last year and I couldn’t get around to reading it due to schoolwork and exams. So here it is now, my review for Cocktail for Three.

I really adore the relationship between the three women, Candice, Roxanne and Maggie. They have that really close friendship where they can trust each other. They are not afraid to be honest to each other, always speaking frankly to each other although they still keep some stuffs to themselves. But who wouldn’t? At least they know that should they choose to reveal their secrets. They even have a place where they can gather on the first day of each month to talk and chill out, a tradition.

Of the three of them, I sympathize with Candice the most. I understand what it means to be betrayed by a friend, or someone pretending to be one and I know how humiliating and painful it is. I know that Candice was not to be blamed for the downfall of Heather’s family. Anyone who could think rationally would see that. Therefore, in my mind’s eye, I think that Heather is a complete demon, whether or not she is out of her mind.

Maggie went through quite a lot too, going from a career woman, being in complete control of everything, to a new mother, obviously baffled by motherhood and clinging on to parenting as said in books. I can really see the toll motherhood had take on her and I’m sure that it happens to new mothers too. One thing for sure, Maggie didn’t have to worry about not knowing how to make scones. I don’t know how to make it either.

As for Roxanne, maybe her decision to go to Cyprus would be an excellent one. She could open her heart once more, perhaps? And time and a good deal of sunlight would heal the pain left by Ralph’s death. I was so glad when she finally snapped out of being depressed. At least she’ll be drinking alcohol for pleasure instead of trying to drown her sorrows.

It’s a really good story written by Madeleine Wickham about friendship and all the ups and downs in life and knowing that in the end things will work out just fine if you talk to someone about it and not be insistent on carrying it all inside of you. Madeleine Wickham is really an amazing author and all the cocktails she mentioned in this story makes me curious on how it taste (no, I’m not allowed to drink alcohol just yet). The story is a delicious blend of friendship, love, guilt and honesty. I’ve only read two other books by Madeleine Wickham: the first two books in the Shopaholic series written under her pseudonym Sophie Kinsella. I’m keen on reading other books by her now and I’ll try to get some the next time I attend a book fair.

About wynd2796

I'm currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science. I am a great lover of books from all sorts of genres (except horror because I've never actually read one due to my overactive imagination). My other passion is animals and I aspire to be a veterinarian one day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cocktails For Three

  1. Lyn says:

    The idea of falling in love with an absolutely perfect guy sounds cool 😀 I definitely prefer reading chick lit books though >< especially by Sophie kinsella ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • wynd2796 says:

      I read chick lit too, but they’re costly in Malaysia if I want to get the latest releases. So I just read anything I can get my hands on ^-^

      Like

Leave a Reply

